Baking, Just Ehsan Elaborating

Baking For Myself

I woke up with a sore throat this morning and my first thought immediately went to a friend of mine who was sick past few days. “I must have gotten the germs from him, dammit Bryan.”

My second thought was that I wanted to try and bake the chocolate chips cookies recipe I mentioned in my previous post. Click here if you want to try it as well 🙂

Prepping the ingredients always take a long time for me. I started at 3 pm and only finished with just the ingredients around 4 pm (okie, minus the time I took to wash the dishes, throw the rubbish bin, fill the bin with plastic bags, finding bowls etc).

The process of baking these cookies is therapeutic and given the past couples of day where I been feeling a bit down, it kinda saves me (lol, I know, like wtf, but wait, I get on to it).

I have not melted the butter in a long time and this recipe called for it. By melting the butter under medium heat and stirring it continuously, it will give a much richer taste to the cookies. When I was melting it, you should have been here. The aroma is just so so heavenly. It’s the aroma that I forgot and today, I rediscovered it.

The second thing that I always love in baking is when you mix flour to the liquid mixture (usually, it’s the egg mixture). I just found it magical that as you fold the flour into the mixture, it will slowly turn into something solid. The way the flour are incorporated into the mixture and it slowly becoming a cookie dough. I always eat the uncooked batter, though, heh :>

One of my most favourite part of baking is when you put the uncooked stuff into the oven. By then, my cookies are distributed evenly on baking sheets and this is a tricky part for me. The first batch is always a trial and error batch. I set the timer for 15 minutes and okie, there is too much spreading so the cookies kinda touch each other. However, it is not a serious issue, I just use a butter knife to cut through them and they are fine. See what I mean by trial and error? You learn from mistakes. For my second batch, the timer is set at 10 minutes and cookies are spread slightly farther from each other. My third batch is the one that makes me so happy.

My whole afternoon and night (cause I accidentally fell asleep and only bake the cookies at 8.30 pm, HAHAHA) were relaxing. I’m falling in love with baking again. I had been feeling quite empty and today, doing something I love and knowing that I still have the ability to create something tasty with my hands are giving me a confidence boost.

My sister ask me who I am baking for? I simply replied, “I’m baking for myself.” I had always baked with the intention of giving for my family and friends, today it is more of a journey of self-discovering. (WELL, TO BE HONEST, IT IS CAUSE MOST OF MY FRIENDS ARE ABROAD NOW SO I CAN’T SHARE THESE COOKIES WITH THEM AHAHHA)

Also, one of my friends said he will bake for me and that was actually quite a sweet gesture. It is always me who bake for people, not the other way around, so nice role reversal.

Alright, I try to take as many pictures as I can and if you saw my Instagram’s stories, that’s basically all of them. I do not know how food bloggers take such nice pictures WHILE baking. Like wtf man, I can’t be taking pictures and see that my butter has not burnt.

img_20170227_223148_943

Loving how flat this is!

img_20170227_223201_333

It look a bit runny here but chilling in fridge DEFINITELY helps

img_20170227_223203_115

img_20170227_223204_905

I was so lazy. This is the part where I accidentally felt asleep

img-20170227-wa0032

🙂

dsc_0415

From top to bottom; 1st batch, 2nd batch and the 3rd batch which make me shout with joy.

img-20170227-wa0036

img_20170227_220315_084

Instagram this shit.

Standard

Leave a Reply

