Uncategorized

Work on Yourself

Hey, just a quick post on something that I learnt today. Been very busy with assignments but I need to write this.

A senior drove me back to my home this morning and among the things we talked about, she gave a particular good piece of advice.

“Work on yourself,” she said as we talked briefly about boys and relationship.

My senior/friend is someone I respect and admire. She is a few years older than me, but doesn’t look like it. She has that “I’m confident” vibe and for me, it’s something.

“Work on yourself. Know yourself really well. Know what you like, what you don’t like. Invest your time in improving your skills, like communication skills. Think about your life goals and work for that. Relationship can wait. Work on your self-esteem and confidence, love yourself, and when you have all that, you will attract people.”

Having this conversation with her, I realize how immature I am. There’s more to life than relationship, I do know that and sometimes, it felt like relationships are a fickle kind of thing. You don’t let it define you unless you did. I know all that, but she kind kick some sense into me.

I have an epiphany that I always “lose” myself when I like someone. I am learning from all my past experiences, but this advice has a more profound effect on me.

Your personality matters at the end of the day, and you need to constantly work on improving yourself.

That car ride home, I discovered that my senior is a full-fledged woman who doesn’t let other people opinions get to her, and I’m still a girl.

However, I am starting my journey to be a woman.

Cheers everyone! Have a nice day!

Standard

One thought on “Work on Yourself

  1. Pingback: Water and Green Tea | SERENDIPITY

Leave a Reply

